Skip to content ↓

School of Engineering awards for 2015

Awards were given to outstanding faculty, and graduate, and undergraduate students.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Chad Galts
Phone: (617) 253-9411
Institute Community and Equity Office
Dean Ian A. Waitz (left) and Joel Paulson, winner of the 2015 School of Engineering Graduate Student Award for Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring
Dean Ian A. Waitz (left) and Joel Paulson, winner of the 2015 School of Engineering Graduate Student Award for Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring
Photo: Lillie Paquette/School of Engineering

The MIT School of Engineering recently honored outstanding faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students, with the following awards:

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching — given to a faculty member whose contributions have been characterized by dedication, care, and creativity:

  • Leslie Kaelbling, the Panasonic Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Junior Bose Award — for an outstanding contributor to education from among the junior faculty of the School of Engineering:

  • Katharina Ribbeck, the Eugene Bell Career Development Professor of Tissue Engineering in biological engineering

Ruth and Joel Spira Awards for Excellence in Teaching — awarded to one faculty member each in three departments — electrical engineering and computer science, mechanical engineering, and nuclear science and engineering — to acknowledge “the tradition of high quality engineering education at MIT.” A fourth award rotates among the School of Engineering’s five other academic departments:

  • Jacopo Buongiorno, professor of nuclear science and engineering
  • Tomás Palacios, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science
  • Srini Devadas, the Edwin Sibley Webster Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Sangbae Kim, assistant professor of mechanical engineering

School of Engineering Graduate Student Award for Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring — established in 2006 to recognize an engineering graduate student who has demonstrated extraordinary teaching and mentoring as a teaching or research assistant:

  • Joel Paulson, chemical engineering

Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising — to a faculty member who has demonstrated a lasting commitment to personal and professional development:

  • Daniel Blankschtein, the Herman P. Meissner (1929) Professor in Chemical Engineering

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship — given to students who exhibit an outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering disciplines that contribute significantly to technological advances in the United States:

  • Kaustav A. Gopinathan, electrical engineering and computer science 
  • Margaret G. Guo, electrical engineering and computer science and biological engineering
  • Felipe Hernandez, mathematics
  • Julia E. Page, chemistry

The Henry Ford II Award — presented to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative average of 5.0 at the end of their seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in the profession of engineering and in society:

  • Taibo Li, electrical engineering and computer science

Samuel M. Seegal Prize — awarded for excellence in teaching to a faculty member (or members) in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and/or the MIT Sloan School of Management, who inspires students in pursuing and achieving excellence:

  • Jerome Connor, a professor of civil and environmental engineering

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story