Skip to content ↓

Seven from MIT elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences for 2024

The prestigious honor society announces more than 250 new members.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

MIT Media Relations
Phone: 617-253-2700

Media Download

Drone photo of Killian court and the MIT campus.
Download Image
Credits: Photo: Emily Dahl

*Terms of Use:

Images for download on the MIT News office website are made available to non-commercial entities, press and the general public under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives license. You may not alter the images provided, other than to crop them to size. A credit line must be used when reproducing images; if one is not provided below, credit the images to "MIT."

Drone photo of Killian court and the MIT campus.
Photo: Emily Dahl

Seven MIT faculty members are among the 250 leaders from academia, the arts, industry, public policy, and research elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced April 24.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications, as well as studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

Those elected from MIT in 2024 are:

  • Edward F. Crawley, professor of aeronautics and astronautics, post-tenure;
  • Nathaniel Hendren, professor of economics;
  • Mei Hong, David A. Leighty Professor of Chemistry;
  • Tod Machover, Muriel R. Cooper Professor of Music and Media;
  • Anna Mikusheva, professor of economics;
  • Elchanan Mossel, professor of mathematics; and
  • Xiao-Gang Wen, Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics.

“We honor these artists, scholars, scientists, and leaders in the public, non-profit, and private sectors for their accomplishments and for the curiosity, creativity, and courage required to reach new heights,” says David Oxtoby, president of the academy. “We invite these exceptional individuals to join in the academy’s work to address serious challenges and advance the common good.”

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading thinkers from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Maria Mitchell and Daniel Webster in the 19th century, and Toni Morrison and Albert Einstein in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners.

Related Links

Related Topics

Related Articles

More MIT News