Eight faculty members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Among 197 elected this year to the prestigious honorary society.

Press Contact

Kimberly Allen
Email: allenkc@mit.edu
Phone: 617-253-2702
MIT News Office

Media Resources

1 images for download

Access Media

Media can only be downloaded from the desktop version of this website.

Eight MIT faculty members are among 197 leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced today.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications, as well as studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

Those elected from MIT this year are:

  • Sangeeta N. Bhatia, the John J. and Dorothy Wilson Professor of Health Sciences and Technology
  • Robert E. Cohen, the Raymond A. and Helen E. St. Laurent Professor of Chemical Engineering
  • Thomas J. Greytak, the Lester Wolfe Professor Emeritus of Physics
  • Sally Haslanger, the Ford Professor of Philosophy
  • John D. Joannopoulos, Francis Wright Davis Professor of Physics
  • William P. Minicozzi II, a professor of mathematics
  • Kathleen Thelen, the Ford Professor of political science
  • Iván Werning, the Robert M. Solow Professor of Economics

“We are honored to elect a new class of extraordinary women and men to join our distinguished membership,” Don Randel, chair of the academy’s Board of Directors, said in a statement. “Each new member is a leader in his or her field and has made a distinct contribution to the nation and the world. We look forward to engaging them in the intellectual life of this vibrant institution.”

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony held on Oct. 10 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Topics: Faculty, Awards, honors and fellowships, AAAS, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science (eecs), Chemical engineering, Physics, Philosophy, Mathematics, Political science, Economics

Back to the top