Skip to content ↓

School of Science announces winners of Teaching Prizes for Graduate and Undergraduate Education

Rick Danheiser and Bjorn Poonen are lauded for their outstanding teaching.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Bendta Schroeder
Phone: 617-324-7795
Koch Institute
Rick Danheiser (left) and Bjorn Poonen
Rick Danheiser (left) and Bjorn Poonen

The School of Science recently announced the winners of its 2014 Teaching Prizes for Graduate and Undergraduate Education. The prizes are awarded annually to School of Science faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching in their courses for that year. Winners are chosen from nominations by their students or colleagues.

Rick Danheiser, the A. C. Cope Professor of Chemistry, was awarded the prize for graduate education for his class 5.511 (Principles of Chemical Science). Danheiser’s nominators not only considered him to be an inspiring teaching and a dedicated mentor, but also a “paragon of clarity, conciseness, and precision” whose lecture notes continue to be an invaluable resource for many of his students long after the course is over.

Bjorn Poonen, the C. E. Shannon (1940) Professor in Mathematics, was awarded the undergraduate education prize for his class, 18.03 (Differential Equations). Poonen’s nominators repeatedly remarked on his dedication to his students' success and well-being, both inside and outside the classroom, as well as his humorous approach to teaching and passion for the subject.

The School of Science welcomes Teaching Prize nominations for its faculty during the spring semester each academic year. For more information please visit the School’s website.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News