Skip to content ↓

Task force forges energy curriculum

Professors Jefferson Tester and Angela Belcher are co-chairs of the energy education task force.
Professors Jefferson Tester and Angela Belcher are co-chairs of the energy education task force.
Photo / Donna Coveney

A primary focus for the Education Task Force, which held its first meeting April 26, is to develop and coordinate a robust energy curriculum for undergraduate and graduate students that integrates expertise and perspectives from all five schools at MIT. "The task force will seek to ensure that outreach to prospective students effectively informs them about opportunities to study and work on energy issues at MIT," said task force co-chair Angela Belcher, the Germeshausen Professor of Materials Science and Engineering and Biological Engineering. "Education task force objectives are strongly aligned with environmental concerns as well as burgeoning 'walk the talk' activities on campus," she said.

The members of the Education Task Force, co-chaired by Belcher and Jefferson Tester, the H.P. Meissner Professor of Chemical Engineering, are:

Marilyne Andersen, assistant professor of building technology in the Department of Architecture; Ahmed F. Ghoniem, professor of mechanical engineering; Michael W. Golay, professor of nuclear science and engineering; Steven B. Leeb, professor of electrical engineering and computer science and mechanical engineering; Donald R. Lessard, Epoch Foundation Professor of International Management in the Sloan School; F. Dale Morgan, professor of geophysics in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences; Dava Newman, professor of aeronautics and astronautics; Donald R. Sadoway, John F. Elliott Professor of Materials Chemistry; Susan S. Silbey, professor of anthropology; Jeffrey I. Steinfeld, professor of chemistry; Washington Taylor, professor of physics.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 9, 2007 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News