Skip to content ↓

Four MIT faculty elected 2016 AAAS Fellows

Green, Ketterle, Nedivi, and Shrobe are among those recognized for their efforts toward advancing science.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Adam Conner-Simons
Phone: 617-324-9135
MIT Computer Science & Artificial Intelligence Lab
2016 MIT AAAS Fellows: (clockwise from top left) William Green, Wolfgang Ketterle, Howard Shrobe, and Elly Nedivi.
2016 MIT AAAS Fellows: (clockwise from top left) William Green, Wolfgang Ketterle, Howard Shrobe, and Elly Nedivi.

Four current MIT faculty members have been elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), according to a news release published today by the journal Science.

The new fellows are among a group of 391 AAAS members elected by their peers in recognition of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science. This year’s fellows will be honored at a ceremony on Feb. 18, 2017, at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

William H. Green, the Hoyt C. Hottel Professor of Chemical Engineering, was recognized for “developing accurate and useful methods for first-principles predictive chemical kinetics, improving understanding of chemical reactions and facilitating the engineering of complicated reacting systems.”

Wolfgang Ketterle, the John D. MacArthur Professor of Physics, associate director of the Research Laboratory of Electronics, and a 2001 Nobel laureate in physics, was recognized for his “seminal contributions to achieving Bose-Einstein condensation in dilute gases of alkali atoms, and for fundamental studies of the properties of the condensates.”

Elly Nedivi, professor of neuroscience at the Picower Institute for Learning and Memory, the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, and the Department of Biology, was recognized for “distinguished contributions to the field of neuroscience, particularly for defining novel cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying activity-dependent synaptic plasticity.”

Howard E. Shrobe, a principal research scientist at the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, was recognized for “distinguished research in knowledge representation and its applicability to human-serving artificial intelligence systems, and both research and service to the federal government in comprehensive approaches to addressing cybersecurity problems.”

This year’s fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News and Notes section of Science on Nov. 25.

Related Links

Related Topics

Related Articles

More MIT News