Skip to content ↓

SHASS announces the 2014 Levitan Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Honor recognizes nine outstanding teachers nominated by students.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Emily Hiestand
Phone: 617-324-2043
Office of the Dean, School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

The James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes teachers in the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (SHASS) — professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants — who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduate and graduate students.  

Nominations are made by students through the course of the academic year, and reflect the positive role that SHASS educators play in the day-to-day, week-to-week efforts of MIT students as they engage with and excel in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.

Announcing the nine 2014 award recipients, SHASS Dean Deborah Fitzgerald said, "This prize honors those instructors in our school who have demonstrated outstanding success in teaching our undergraduate and graduate students. These great educators, who are nominated by students themselves, have made a difference in the lives of our remarkable students — and are among the finest academic leaders at the Institute."

To learn more about the award recipients, from 2009 to 2014, visit the Levitan Teaching Award Gallery on the SHASS website. 

The 2014 winners of the James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching are: 

Christopher Leighton | History
Susan Silbey | Anthropology
Lucas Stanczyk | Political Science
Patricia Tang | Music

Ellen Crocker | Foreign Languages and Literatures
Cathy Culot | Foreign Languages and Literatures
David Deveau | Music

Teaching Assistants
Matthew Rognlie | Economics
Alec Worsnop | Political Science

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News