Skip to content ↓

MIT Sport Shorts — NCAA Championship news and NEWMAC honors

Roundup of news from MIT's fall sports season
Follow MIT cross country, field hockey and women’s soccer in NCAA Championship action
(Click here for details)

Field hockey, women’s soccer defeat Springfield College to win NEWMAC Championships

Cross country sweeps NEWMAC Championships for third year in a row
(Men's Recap/Women's Recap)

NEWMAC Fall Postseason Honors

Men’s Cross Country – NEWMAC Champions
Runner of the Year: Hemagiri Arumugam
All-Conference: Hemagiri Arumugam, Bill Phipps, Gihan Amarasiriwardena, Dawit Zewdie, Dan Harper, Paul Welle, Stephen Serene, Ben Mattocks
Academic All-Conference: Hemagiri Arumugam, Jack Bourbonnais, Logan Daum, Ben Mattocks, William Phipps, Stephen Serene, Matthew Weaver

Women’s Cross Country – NEWMAC Champions
Runner of the Year: Maria Monks
Rookie of the Year: Brooke Johnson
All-Conference: Maria Monks, Jacqui Wentz, Brooke Johnson, Missy Showers, Tania Morimoto, Alina Gatowski, Katherine Eve
Academic All-Conference: Katherine Eve, Alina Gatowski, Margaret Lloyd, Maria Monks, Jacqui Wentz

Field Hockey – NEWMAC Champions
Coach of the Year: Cheryl Silva
All-Conference: Molly McShane (First Team), Anna Teruya (First Team), Keri Dixon (First Team), Kimberly Barker (Second Team)
Academic All-Conference: Keri Dixon, Jessica Oleinik, Danielle Smith

Men’s Soccer – NEWMAC Quarterfinalist
All-Conference: Zachary Kabelac (First Team), Christian Therkelsen (First Team), Max Stein-Golenbock (Second Team), Ben Lewis (Second Team)
Academic All-Conference: Samuel Acquah, Akara Ambak, Peter Bojo, Max Stein-Golenbock, Christian Therkelsen

Women’s Soccer – NEWMAC Champions
Athlete of the Year: Lauren Hernley
All-Conference: Lauren Hernley (First Team), Emily Kuo (First Team), Alisha Lussiez (Second Team), Katie Pesce (Second Team)
Academic All-Conference: Kerry Box, Lauren Hernley, Alisha Lussiez, Katie Pesce, Edith Reshef, Liz Theurer

Women’s Tennis – NEWMAC Semifinalist
All-Conference: Leslie Hansen (Second Team No. 1 Singles and No. 1 Doubles), Anastasia Vishnevetsky (Second Team No. 2 Singles and No. 1 Doubles)
Academic All-Conference: Sheena Bhalla, Jenny Dohlman, Leslie Hansen, Jenny Hillary, Sonya Makhni, Anastasia Vishnevetsky

Women’s Volleyball – NEWMAC Runner-Up
All-Conference: Barden Cleeland (First Team), Alex May (First Team), Jenny Li (Second Team), Alyssa Rothman (Second Team)
Academic All-Conference: Katrina Ellison, Kate Kelly, Alex May

Related Topics

More MIT News