Skip to content ↓

Goldwasser, Stubbe named Franklin Institute laureates

The Franklin Institute has selected JoAnne Stubbe, the Novartis Professor of Chemistry and professor of biology, and Shafrira Goldwasser, the RSA Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, as winners of Benjamin Franklin Medals.

Stubbe, who recently won the National Medal of Science, will receive the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry. According to the award citation, she is being honored "for uncovering the intricate processes by which cells safely use free radicals, for developing new cancer treatments, and for improving the production of environmentally friendly biodegradable polymers."

Goldwasser will receive the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science "for her fundamental contributions to the theoretical foundation of modern cryptography, which led to techniques that can guarantee secure access to the Internet."

Stubbe and Goldwasser are among 11 laureates selected this year. They will receive their awards on April 29, 2010, at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News