Skip to content ↓

School of Science recognizes members with 2020 Infinite Kilometer Awards

Four members of the School of Science honored for contributions to the Institute.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:


The MIT School of Science has announced the winners of the 2020 Infinite Kilometer Awards, which are presented annually to researchers within the school who are exceptional contributors to their communities.

These winners are nominated by their peers and mentors for their hard work, which can include mentoring and advising, supporting educational programs, providing service to groups such as the MIT Postdoctoral Association, or some other form of contribution to their home departments, labs, and research centers, the school, and the Institute.

The 2020 Infinite Kilometer Award winners in the School of Science are:

  • Edgar Costa, a research scientist in the Department of Mathematics, nominated by Professor Bjorn Poonen and Principal Research Scientist Andrew Sutherland;
  • Casey Rodriguez, an instructor in the Department of Mathematics, nominated by Professor Gigliola Staffilani;
  • Rachel Ryskin, a postdoc in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, nominated by Professor Edward Gibson; and
  • Grayson Sipe, a postdoc in the Picower Institute for Learning and Memory, nominated by Professor Mriganka Sur.

A monetary award is granted to recipients, and a celebratory reception will be held later this spring in their honor, attended by those who nominated them, family, and friends, in addition to the soon-to-be-announced recipients of the 2020 Infinite Mile Award.

Related Links

Related Topics

Related Articles

More MIT News