Skip to content ↓

Two from MIT win AFOSR Young Investigator Award

AeroAstro assistant professor, RLE research scientist among 40 winners

Two researchers from MIT have been named among the 40 scientists and engineers who submitted winning research proposals through the Air Force's Young Investigator Research Program (YIP).

The Air Force Office of Scientific Research awarded approximately $15 million in total to the researchers, who must have received a PhD or equivalent degrees in the last five years and show exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research. Those selected receive the grants over a three- to five-year period.

The researcher selected from MIT are:
  • Kerri Cahoy, assistant professor in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, for “GEO Satellites as Space Weather Sensors”;
  • Jeffrey Moses, a research scientist at the Research Laboratory of Electronics, for work on “High-Energy, Multi-Octave-Spanning Mid-IR Sources via Adiabatic Difference Frequency Generation.”
The objective of the program is to foster creative basic research in science and engineering, enhance early career development of outstanding young investigators, and increase opportunities for the young investigators to recognize the Air Force mission and the related challenges in science and engineering.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News