Skip to content ↓

School of Engineering awards for 2013

Awards given to outstanding faculty, graduate and undergraduate students.

The following awards were given recently by the School of Engineering.

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching — Given to a faculty member whose contributions have been characterized by dedication, care and creativity
  • Steven B. Leeb, professor of electrical engineering
Junior Bose Award — For an outstanding contributor to education from among the junior faculty of the School of Engineering
  • Geoffrey S. Beach, assistant professor of materials science and engineering
Ruth and Joel Spira Awards for Excellence in Teaching — Awarded to one faculty member each in electrical engineering and computer science, mechanical engineering, and nuclear science and engineering to acknowledge "the tradition of high quality engineering education at MIT." A fourth award will rotate among the school's five other academic departments, beginning with Aeronautics and Astronautics in 2009
  • Dennis Whyte, Nuclear Science and Engineering
  • Nikolai Zeldovich, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Lorna Gibson, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Franz Hover, Mechanical Engineering
School of Engineering Graduate Student Award for Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring — Established in 2006 to recognize an engineering graduate student who has demonstrated extraordinary teaching and mentoring as a teaching or research assistant
  • Tom Heaps-Nelson, Engineering Systems Division
Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising — To a faculty member who has demonstrated a lasting commitment to personal and professional development
  • Al Oppenheim, professor of electrical engineering and computer science
The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship — Given to students who exhibit an outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or those engineering disciplines that contribute significantly to the technological advances of the United States
  • Colleen Loynachan, Materials Science and Engineering
The Henry Ford II Award — Presented to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative average of 5.0 at the end of their seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in the profession of engineering and in society
  • Sara R. Comis, Mechanical Engineering

Samuel M. Seegal Prize — Awarded for excellence in teaching to a faculty member (or members) in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and/or the Sloan School of Management, who inspires students in pursuing and achieving excellence.

  • Herbert Einstein, professor of civil and environmental engineering


    Related Links

    Related Topics

    More MIT News