Skip to content ↓

Recognizing outstanding teaching, mentoring, and innovation

Who should receive MIT's highest honor for teaching, mentoring and innovation in undergraduate education? Nominations for MacVicar Faculty Fellows are due on Thursday, Nov. 21.

The MacVicar Faculty Fellows Program was established in 1992 to honor the life and devotion to teaching excellence of Margaret MacVicar '64, ScD '67, MIT's first Dean for Undergraduate Education and founder of the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP). The program recognizes and rewards faculty for sustained commitment to undergraduate instruction and educational innovation, inside the classroom and beyond.

Nominations, including letters of support from faculty, department heads, and students, should be delivered to the Office of Faculty Support, 12-127. A complete description of the program, a list of fellows, and details of the nomination process are available at the MacVicar Fellows website.

MacVicar Fellows are appointed for 10 years and receive an annual allowance of $10,000 for educational activities, research, travel, and other scholarly activities. New Fellows will be announced and honored on MacVicar Day, which will be held on Friday, March 14, 2014.

More MIT News