Skip to content ↓

Two MIT chemists win ACS awards

Buchwald, Swager honored by the American Chemical Society
Two members of MIT’s Department of Chemistry were named as award recipients by the American Chemical Society this week.

Stephen Buchwald, the Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry, received the Arthur C. Cope Award, sponsored by the Arthur C. Cope Fund. This $25,000 award recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of organic chemistry, the significance of which becomes apparent within the five years preceding the year in which the award is given.

Timothy Swager, the John D. MacArthur Professor of Chemistry, received the ACS Award for Creative Invention, sponsored by the ACS Corporate Associates. This $5,000 award recognizes an inventor for “the successful application of research in chemistry and/or chemical engineering that contributes to the material prosperity and happiness of people.”

Swager, Buchwald and other 2013 ACS award winners will be honored at the ACS national meeting in April.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News