Skip to content ↓

Three MIT researchers win Sloan Research Fellowships

Gedik, Matusik and Pathak among 126 researchers selected.
A physicist, a computer scientist and an economist from MIT are among 126 American and Canadian researchers selected as Sloan Research Fellows for 2012, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation announced this week.

MIT’s new Sloan Research Fellows are Nuh Gedik, an assistant professor of physics; Wojciech Matusik, the Esther and Harold E. Edgerton Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; and Parag Pathak, the Gary W. Loveman (1989) Career Development Associate Professor of Economics.

Awarded annually since 1955, the Sloan Research Fellowships are given to early career scientists and scholars whose achievements and potential identify them as rising stars, among the next generation of scientific leaders.

“Today’s Sloan Research Fellows are tomorrow’s Nobel Prize winners,” said Paul L. Joskow, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. “These outstanding men and women are responsible for some of the most exciting science being done today. The Foundation is proud to support them during this pivotal stage of their careers.”

Drawn from 51 colleges and universities across the United States and Canada, the 2012 Sloan Research Fellows represent a variety of research interests. Historically awarded in seven scientific fields — chemistry; computer science; economics; mathematics; evolutionary and computational molecular biology; neuroscience; and physics — the fellowships were expanded this year to include researchers working in the ocean sciences.

Administered and funded by the Sloan Foundation, the fellowships are awarded in close cooperation with the scientific community. To qualify, candidates must first be nominated by their peers and are subsequently selected by an independent panel of senior scholars. Fellows receive $50,000 to be used to further their research.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News