Skip to content ↓

MIT-France Program Advisory Board member Haroche wins Nobel Prize

The 2012 Nobel Prize in physics was awarded earlier this week to two researchers for their work with light and matter at the fundamental level.

Serge Haroche, of the the Collège de France and the École Normale Supérieure, shares the award with David J. Wineland, of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Colorado.

Haroche, who lives in Paris, was a founding member of the MIT-France Program Advisory Board. His work on the board, starting in 2003, helped launch the success of the MIT-France Program.

The Nobel citation said the award was for "ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems."

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News