Skip to content ↓

Four from MIT win prestigious Guggenheim fellowships

Doeleman, Hughes, Makan and Yablo among 181 recipients for 2012.
Four MIT researchers are among 181 scholars, artists and scientists recently awarded 2012 fellowships by the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation.

Guggenheim fellowships are intended for those who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. In this year's competition — the 88th in the Guggenheim Foundation's history — nearly 3,000 applicants vied for fellowships.

This year's recipients from MIT, and their projects, are:
  • Sheperd S. Doeleman, principal research scientist and assistant director of MIT’s Haystack Observatory, for “building an event horizon telescope.”
  • Scott A. Hughes, associate professor of physics, for studying “the astrophysics of ultra-strong gravity.”
  • Keeril Makan, composer and associate professor in the Music and Theater Arts Section for “music composition.”
  • Stephen Yablo, professor of linguistics and philosophy, for “subject matter, seeing-As, and semantics.”
See the full list of winners

U.S. Sen. Simon Guggenheim and his wife established the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation in 1925 as a memorial to their son. The Foundation offers fellowships to further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge and creation in any of the arts, under the freest possible conditions and irrespective of race, color or creed.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

The book cover has bright yellow lights like fireflies, and says, “The Transcendent Brain: Spirituality in the Age of Science; Alan Lightman, best-selling author of Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine.” On the right is a portrait of Alan Lightman.

Minds wide open

Alan Lightman’s new book asks how a sense of transcendence can exist in brains made of atoms, molecules, and neurons.

Read full story