Skip to content ↓

New Artificial Intelligence Hall of Fame inducts four MIT professors

IEEE Computer Society magazine honors AI pioneers in inaugural Hall of Fame.
Four artificial intelligence (AI) pioneers from MIT have been chosen as inductees in the inaugural AI Hall of Fame, established by the IEEE Computer Society’s IEEE Intelligent Systems Magazine.

The magazine’s inaugural class comprised 10 influential leaders from the field. The four researchers from MIT were: Tim Berners-Lee, the 3Com Founders Professor of Engineering, head of the Decentralized Information Group and inventor of the World Wide Web; Institute Professor Noam Chomsky, a professor emeritus in MIT’s Department of Linguistics and Philosophy; John McCarthy, a former professor of electrical engineering and inventor of the computer programming language Lisp; and Marvin Minsky, the Toshiba Professor of Media Arts and Sciences and a professor of electrical engineering and computer science.

The technical magazine, in celebration of its 25th anniversary, created the Hall of Fame to honor the lifetime achievements of senior researchers in the fields of AI and intelligent systems. Inductees were chosen based on nominations by IEEE members, and in the hall’s first year, editors said they found a deep well of qualified candidates.

“When we began our search for candidates, it quickly became clear that there was an immense number of amazing, talented individuals conducting relevant and innovative research in the AI and intelligent systems field across the globe,” Intelligent Systems Editor-in-Chief Fei-Yue Wang said in a release. “The task of selecting from such an accomplished list was an extremely difficult process.”

The other inductees, announced in the July/August issue of the magazine, were Douglas Engelbart, Edward Albert Feigenbaum, Nils J. Nilsson, Judea Pearl, Raj Reddy and Lotfi Zadeh.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News