Skip to content ↓

Four from MIT named AAAS fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of fellow to 539 members, including four members of the MIT community.

Fellows are recognized by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and the society’s gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Sunday, Feb. 19, at the association’s annual meeting in Washington.

The following individuals are new AAAS fellows:
  • Moe Win, associate professor of aeronautics and astronautics, for distinguished contributions to the foundations of network navigation and communication;
  • Karl Dane Wittrup, the Carbon P. Dubbs Professor of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, for merging basic chemical-engineering analyses with creative molecular biological methods development in protein engineering, protein expression and quantitative pharmacology;
  • Sara Seager, the Ellen Swallow Richards Professor of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences, for pioneering work on theoretical models of the atmospheric composition and internal structure of extrasolar planets, from super-Earths to gas-giant planets;
  • Matthew Wilson, the Sherman Fairchild Professor of Neuroscience, for studies of plasticity of spatial coding in the hippocampus and of the contribution of sleep to memory storage using many single-neuron recording approaches.

Related Topics

More MIT News