Skip to content ↓

Three NSE graduate students win DOE-sponsored award

Left to right are award winners Mark Massie, Robert Petroski and Jeremy Roberts.
Left to right are award winners Mark Massie, Robert Petroski and Jeremy Roberts.

Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering graduate students Mark Massie, Robert Petroski and Jeremy Roberts have been named winners of the 2010 Innovations in Fuel Cycle Research Awards sponsored by the Department of Energy. This new award program is designed to facilitate innovation, the creation of new ideas, and education in fuel-cycle-relevant disciplines.

Students were judged on published or submitted papers in any of the following eight categories: nuclear science and engineering, fuel separations and waste forms, advanced materials, nuclear fuels, isotope transmutation, nuclear material accountability and control instrumentation, systems engineering and analysis and energy policy (with a focus on nuclear energy).

Robert Petroski and Mark Massie placed first and second respectively in the isotope transmutation category; Jeremy Roberts placed second in the nuclear science and engineering category. All three will receive cash prizes and will present their work at the 2010 ANS Winter Meeting.

Read more about the award program

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Music video screenshot showing about 20 rectangular boxes on a black background featuring MIT Syncopasian members singing

A cappella for a cause

MIT Syncopasian’s musical performance features the poem “Things We Carry On The Sea” by Wang Ping and invites Asian members of the MIT community to help celebrate AAPI Heritage Month.

Read full story