Skip to content ↓

Five from MIT elected fellows of the American Physical Society

Five MIT faculty members are among the 200-plus new fellows of the American Physical Society (APS), an organization dedicated to the advancement of physics.

The new fellows are:
  • Triantaphyllos Akylas, professor of mechanical engineering. Akylas was cited for "elegant and insightful theoretical investigations of nonlinear surface and internal gravity wave phenomena."
  • Isaac Chuang, a professor of electrical engineering and computer science, for "his breadth and leadership in the field of quantum information science, including important theoretical discoveries and the exploration of experimental implementations."
  • Jan Egedal-Pedersen, an associate professor of physics, for "pioneering contributions to understanding of driven and spontaneous magnetic reconnection in laboratory and space plasmas and the fundamental role played by trapped electrons."
  • David Kaiser, associate professor in the Program in Science, Technology, and Society and a lecturer in the Department of Physics. Kaiser was cited for "his outstanding publications that combine technical mastery of twentieth-century physics with a deep knowledge of recent developments in the history, philosophy, and sociology of science." (read more)
  • Nergis Mavalvala, a professor of physics, for "her contributions to the design and commissioning of LIGO, and for experimental exploration of the fundamental quantum limits of interferometric gravitational wave interferometers."
Learn more about the APS

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News