Skip to content ↓

Awards & Honors: Dec. 18, 2009

Banerjee wins India’s Infosys Prize

Abhijit Banerjee, the Ford International Professor of Economics, was among the five scientists and social scientists chosen to receive the 2009 Infosys Prize, which aims to elevate the prestige of scientific research in India and to inspire young Indians to pursue a career in scientific research.

Banerjee was chosen for his outstanding contributions to the economic theory of development and for his pioneering work in the empirical evaluation of public policy. The awards will be presented by India’s prime minister at a ceremony to be held on Jan. 4 in New Delhi.

Two professors selected to APS

Two MIT professors were recently elected as Fellows of the American Physical Society. Raymond Ashoori, professor of physics, was honored for “development of imaging techniques that reveal the physical properties of reduced-dimensional electronic systems.” John Bush, professor of applied mathematics, was honored for “novel contributions to surface-tension dominated flows, elucidation of their appearance in biological contexts, and for many illustrations of the visual beauty of fluid dynamics.”

Related Topics

More MIT News

The book cover has bright yellow lights like fireflies, and says, “The Transcendent Brain: Spirituality in the Age of Science; Alan Lightman, best-selling author of Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine.” On the right is a portrait of Alan Lightman.

Minds wide open

Alan Lightman’s new book asks how a sense of transcendence can exist in brains made of atoms, molecules, and neurons.

Read full story