Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors: Nov. 4, 2009

Hockfield, Lander, Rivest and Han win awards
Hockfield named one of America’s Best Leaders

MIT President Susan Hockfield was named among 21 of America’s Best Leaders by U.S. News and World Report.

The magazine cited Hockfield’s work in forming the MIT Energy Initiative and her push to increase federal funding of energy research since becoming president in 2004.

“The initiative has become a leading voice on energy in Washington and a source of scientific advances in everything from solar power to carbon capture and sequestration technology for coal-burning power plants,” the magazine wrote.

The full article can be read here.

Broad Director Lander wins N.Y. Academy of Medicine Academy Medal

Eric Lander, founding director of the Broad Institute and professor of biology at MIT, is this year’s recipient of the Academy Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Biomedical Science from the New York Academy of Medicine. The award will be presented at the 162nd Anniversary Discourse and Awards Ceremony on Nov. 17 at the New York Academy of Medicine.

Rivest, colleagues win C&C Prize

The honors continue to mount for cryptographer and Viterbi Professor of Computer Science Ron Rivest, who along with Adi Shamir and Len Adleman invented the RSA algorithm commonly used for secure Internet transactions.

Already recipients of the Association for Computing Machinery's prestigious Turing Award, the trio will share the 2009 C&C Prize from the Japanese information technology firm NEC, which is awarded to distinguished persons in recognition of outstanding contributions to R&D activities and pioneering work related to the integration of computers and communications technologies and the social impact of developments in these fields. The prize includes a cash award of 10 million yen (approximately $109,000)

EECS Associate Professor Han wins Analytical Chemistry award

Jongyoon Han, associate professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and in the Department of Biological Engineering, is the recipient of the 2009 Analytical Chemistry Young Innovator Award. Han is also a principal investigator in the MIT Research Laboratory of Electronics, where he directs the Micro/NanoFluidic and BioMEMS groups.

This award, sponsored by the journal Analytical Chemistry and the Chemical and Biological Microsystems Division, recognizes the contributions of those who have demonstrated exceptional technical advancement and innovation in the field of micro- or nanofluidics in their early careers.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News