Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

John C. Cox, the Nomura Professor of Finance, has been elected as an American Finance Association (AFA) Fellow. The purpose of the AFA Society of Fellows is to recognize those members who have made a distinguished contribution to the field of finance. No more than five candidates are nominated each year, and current fellows elect a maximum of two new fellows. Cox was the sole recipient of this honor in the most recent election.

Elfatih Eltahir, pro-fessor of civil and environmental engineering, and Samuel Bowring, Robert R. Shrock Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences, have been elected Fellows of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). Fellows are elected based on their acknowledged eminence in the Earth and space -sciences, their contributions to the scientific community and the advancement of the public's understanding. This honor is bestowed on only 0.1 percent of the AGU membership in any given year.

Arvind and Robert C. Armstrong have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice or education," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative -approaches to engineering education."

Arvind, the Charles W. and Jennifer C. Johnson Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was honored for "contributions to data flow and multi-thread computing and the development of tools for the high-level synthesis of hardware."

Armstrong, the Chevron Professor of Chemical Engineering, was honored for "conducting outstanding research on non-Newtonian fluid mechanics, co-authoring landmark textbooks and providing leadership in chemical engineering education."

Principal Research Scientist Victor W. Wong has been granted fellow status by SAE International, a leading membership society dedicated to advancing mobility engineering worldwide. Wong, manager of the Sloan Automotive Laboratory, was honored for "significant contributions to the field of engine power cylinder lubrication, helping to bridge the gap between classic tribological studies in engine component dynamics and development." One of a select few who have won the SAE Lubricants Award twice, Wong was recognized with the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award in 1994.

MIT graduate students Karima Nigmatulina and Michael Metzger recently received first- and second-place honors at a poster session sponsored by the National Academies. Karima's first-place poster focused on government and community interventions for stopping pandemic flu. Metzger earned second place for his poster, which outlined the use of decision modeling to mitigate risks and damage in hurricane emergencies. Both students are research assistants in the Center for Engineering Systems Fundamentals within MIT's Engineering Systems Division.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 13, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News