Skip to content ↓

ICA presents Machover work

MIT Media Lab composer Tod Machover, known for his innovativeness as a musician and as a creator of new technology for musical instruments, will present an evening performance of work commissioned for the Grammy Award-winning Ying Quartet.

The concert at Boston's Institute for Contemporary Art will feature Machover's composition "…but not simpler…" on Friday, April 6, at 8 p.m. at the ICA's waterfront site. (Also, due to popular demand, a second show has been scheduled on the same date for 6 p.m. Tickets for the 6 p.m. show are on sale now.)

Built around Machover's new string quartet commissioned by the Ying, the upcoming concert of continuous music brings together works from diverse periods and styles, from Bach to Beethoven, Cage to Carter, Byrd to the Beatles. The concert also includes original electronic interludes. The concert premiered last season in New York and was given a rave by the New York Times. April 6 is the event's Boston premiere.

Media arts and sciences graduate student Mike Fabio helped design the technology and sound infrastructure for the event.

For more information and to reserve tickets, please go to the ICA's web page for the peformance.

Machover's work will also be featured this spring in other venues, including a concert piece on "Music, Mind and Health," to be presented at the Media Lab's "Human 2.0" symposium in Kresge on May 9 and the world premiere of "VinylCello," his new work for Hypercello and live DJ, to be performed by Matt Haimovitz, DJ Olive with Kent Nagano and the Berkeley Symphony Orchestra on May 11.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 21, 2007 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News