Skip to content ↓

Biology awards

All students are biology majors unless otherwise indicated.

Goldwater Scholarship
- Alicia Zhou '06, Chicago, Ill.

Undergraduate Research Symposium Award
- Lakshmi Nambiar '06, Califon, N.J.
- Leslie Rozeboom '06, Evergreen, Colo.
- Alicia Zhou '06, Chicago, Ill.
- Veronica Zepeda '05, Houston, Texas

John L. Asinari Award--for outstanding research in life sciences
- Ryu Yoshida '05, Bethesda, Md.

Salvador E. Luria Prize--for outstanding scholarship and research of publication quality
- Veronica Zepeda '05, Houston, Texas

Whitehead Prize in Biology--for a student who has shown outstanding promise for a career in biological research
- Meisha Bynoe '05, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Merck Prize--for outstanding research and academic performance in biophysical or bioinformatics sciences
- Eric Van Nostrand '05, Port Washington, N.Y.

Gene M. Brown Award--to a senior who has an outstanding academic record and has made important contributions to the biology teaching program
- Johanna Varner '06, Salt Lake City, Utah

Ned Holt Prize--to a student who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and service to the department and the MIT community
- Danos Christodoulou '05, Cyprus

Randolph G. Wei Award
- Orlando Jaquez Nanita '05, biology and management, Miami, Fla.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 1, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Music video screenshot showing about 20 rectangular boxes on a black background featuring MIT Syncopasian members singing

A cappella for a cause

MIT Syncopasian’s musical performance features the poem “Things We Carry On The Sea” by Wang Ping and invites Asian members of the MIT community to help celebrate AAPI Heritage Month.

Read full story