Skip to content ↓

American Academy elects 12 from MIT

Eleven faculty members and one Corporation member are among the 178 new Fellows and 24 new Foreign Honorary Members recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The Academy was founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity and happiness of a free, independent and virtuous people." The organization conducts interdisciplinary studies on international security, social policy, education and the humanities that draw on the range of academic and intellectual disciplines of its members. The current membership of more than 4,500 leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs includes more than 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The Academy will welcome this year's new Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members at its annual induction ceremony in October at its Cambridge headquarters.

New members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences from MIT are:

  • Tania A. Baker, the Whitehead Professor of Biology and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator
  • Abhijit V. Banerjee, the Ford Foundation Professor of Economics
  • Moungi G. Bawendi, professor of chemistry
  • Mark F. Bear, the Picower Professor of Neuroscience and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator
  • Mary C. Boyce, the Distinguished Alumnae Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Claude R. Canizares, the Bruno Rossi Professor of Physics and associate provost
  • Leonard Guarente, the Novartis Professor of Biology
  • Subra Suresh, the Ford Professor of Engineering and head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Gang Tian, the Simons Professor of Mathematics
  • Graham Walker, the American Cancer Society Research Professor in the Department of Biology
  • Maria Zuber, the E.A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics and Planetary Sciences
  • Alexander W. Dreyfoos Jr. (S.B. 1954), life member of the MIT Corporation and head of The Dreyfoos Group/Photo Electronics Corp.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 12, 2004 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News