Skip to content ↓

Nominations being solicited for 2000-01 Institute awards

Nominations are open for Institute awards to be presented at the annual Awards Convocation on Monday, May 14 at 4pm in Rm 10-250.

The event is designed to honor members of the student body, faculty and staff who have made special contributions to the life of the MIT community.

To nominate someone, write a letter describing the nominee's qualifications and accomplishments and send it, as well as other supporting documents, if available, to the Awards Committee in Rm 50-005. The deadline for most nominations is Friday, March 23.

There are different nominating procedures and deadlines for the Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Student Art Awards and Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts, the Gordon Y Billard Award and the Goodwin Medal. See the award descriptions below for details.

The Karl Taylor Compton Prizes, given in memory of MIT's ninth president, are the highest awards presented by the Institute to students and student organizations in recognition of achievements in citizenship and devotion to the welfare of MIT. They reflect outstanding contributions to the MIT community as a whole, sustained over a significant number of years.

The William L. Stewart Jr. Awards are in memory of William L. Stewart Jr., an alumnus and member of the Corporation who showed deep interest in student life at MIT. The awards recognize contributions by an individual student or student organization to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year.

The James N. Murphy Award was established in memory of Mr. Murphy's immeasurable contribution to community life at the Institute as a staff member. It is given to an employee whose spirit and loyalty exemplify this kind of inspired and dedicated service, especially with regard to students. Sustained contribution is a criterion for the award, but longevity, in itself, is not.

The Albert G. Hill Prize is awarded to a minority junior or senior who has maintained high academic standards and made continued contributions to the improvement of the quality of life for minorities at MIT. A former vice president for research, Dr. Hill was an early champion of equal opportunity at MIT.

The Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service honors the inspirational contributions that Mrs. Gray (wife of former MIT President Paul E. Gray) has made to public service at the Institute. Established in 1997 by the Undergraduate Association and the Public Service Center, it recognizes undergraduates who are exceptionally committed to public service at MIT and surrounding communities, and who demonstrate personal dedication to social change, prolonged and in-depth involvement, and leadership initiative.

The Laya W. Wiesner Award honors Mrs. Wiesner's contributions to women's activities during her time as first lady of MIT. It was established in 1980 by the MIT Women's League and is presented to the undergraduate woman who has most enhanced MIT community life.

The Laya Wiesner Community Award was established in 1999 to honor Mrs. Wiesner's legacy at MIT. The award is presented to a member or friend of the MIT community for conspicuously effective service that reflects Mrs. Wiesner's concerns for enhancing life atthe Institute and in the world at large.

The Association of MIT Alumnae (AMITA) Senior Academic Award is for a woman senior who has demonstrated the highest level of academic excellence through coursework and related professional activities at MIT.

The Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is presented to faculty members in recognition of exceptional interest and ability in undergraduate instruction. This is the only teaching award in which the nomination and selection of the recipients is done entirely by the students. The award is given in memory of Everett Moore Baker, dean of studentsfrom 1947-50.

The Arthur C. Smith Award was established in 1996 upon Professor Smith's retirement as dean for undergraduate education and student affairs. It is presented to a faculty member for meaningful contributions and devotion to undergraduate student life.

The Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement to MIT Education is presented to any member or group in the Institute community to honor significant innovations and improvements to MIT education. The award is named in honor of Irwin W. Sizer, dean of the Graduate School from 1967-75.

The Graduate Student Council Teaching Awards are given each year to one professor or teaching assistant from each school for excellence in teaching a graduate-level course.

The Edward L. Horton Fellowship Award is given in memory of Edward L. Horton, a doctoral candidate in physics, to honor his spirited contributions to graduate student life at the Institute. The award will be presented to any student group that fosters fellowship within the graduate student community. The award was established by the Graduate Student Council upon the untimely death of Mr. Horton in 1982.

The Frank E. Perkins Award is given to a professor who has served as an excellent advisor and mentor for graduate students. The award is named in honor of Frank E. Perkins, dean of the Graduate School from 1983-95.

The Gordon Y Billard Award is made to a member of the faculty, nonfaculty employee or someone not necessarily affiliated with the Institute for special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute. The award was established by Mr. Billard, a member of the Class of 1924.

Nominations for this award should arrive at the Office of the Vice President for Human Resources in Rm E19-239 no later than Friday, March 23.

The Goodwin Medal is presented to a graduate student whose performance of teaching duties is conspicuously effective over and above ordinary excellence. This award was established in memory of Henry Manley Goodwin, the first dean of the Graduate School.

Nominations for this award should be sent to the relevant department's head; each department may endorse only one candidate to the dean for graduate education. The nominations process will be further described in a forthcoming letter from Dean Isaac Colbert.

The Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Student Art Awards honor former President and Mrs. Wiesner for their contributions to the arts at MIT. The award was established in 1979 by the Council for the Arts at MIT (CAMIT) and provides two annual awards to students (graduate or undergraduate), organizations, living groups or activities for outstanding achievement in and contributions to the arts at MIT.

All nominations for this award should be sent to Susan Cohen, director of CAMIT, Rm E15-205,, by March 16. No self-nominations will be accepted.

The Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts is presented to a graduating senior who has demonstrated excellence or the highest standards of proficiency in music, theater, painting, sculpture, design, architecture or film. The prize is made from a fund established by Louis Sudler, an arts performer and patron from Chicago.

All nominations for this award should be sent to Susan Cohen (see preceding award) by March 16. No self-nominations will be accepted.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 14, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News