Skip to content ↓

MIT faculty and staff named AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 288 members, including three MIT faculty and staff members.

Fellows are recognized for their efforts advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold-and-blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering, respectively) on Feb. 16 during the 2002 AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

New MIT Fellows are:

Felice Frankel, an MIT research scientist and science photographer in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, for "distinguished and innovative contributions to envisioning and communicating science and engineering for the academic community and the general public."

Ronald G. Prinn, the TEPCO Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry and head of the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences, for "seminal contributions to the development of MIT's interdisciplinary program on the research and policy aspects of global change science and to research in tropospheric chemistry."

Institute Professor and Nobel laureate Mario J. Molina for "important work in developing the understanding of the chemistry of the stratospheric ozone layers."

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on November 7, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Cindy Heredia poses and smiles at the camera, sitting on her teams’ white, blue, and red driverless race car at the Indy Autonomous Challenge

Driven to driverless

Cindy Alejandra Heredia’s journey from Laredo, Texas, took her to leading the MIT autonomous vehicle team and to an MBA from MIT Sloan.

Read full story