Skip to content ↓

Chemical engineering ceremony honors department members

Michael J. Buchanan and Caroline P. Chen receive their Outstanding TA Awards from Professor Robert C. Armstrong (left), head of chemical engineering.
Michael J. Buchanan and Caroline P. Chen receive their Outstanding TA Awards from Professor Robert C. Armstrong (left), head of chemical engineering.
Photo / Janet Fischer

At the Department of Chemical Engineering's annual awards ceremony on May 8, awards were presented to 18 students, faculty and staff members in the department.

In conjunction with the Student Financial Aid Office, the James E. Cunningham '57 Scholarship was given to Akaniyene E. Umoh, a junior from Providence, RI; the John H. Dessauer Scholarship went to Deepa R. Patel, a junior from Katy, TX.

Merck Fellowships were acknowledged for Nganfong Huang, a sophomore from Brooklyn, NY, and Luwam G. Semere, a junior from Buffalo, NY.

The Dow Chemical Co. Outstanding Junior Award recipient was Agnieszka N. Stachowiak, a junior from Ann Arbor, MI, for her balanced record of achievement in academics and campus professional and social organizations, as well as work experience. The Robert T. Haslam Cup was awarded to Matthew J. Alvarado, a senior from Raymore, MO, for outstanding professional promise in chemical engineering. The Roger de Friez Hunneman Prize, the oldest prize in the department (begun in 1927), was awarded to Lin Shi, a senior from El Monte, CA, in recognition of outstanding scholarship and research.

Edward W. Merrill Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards were presented to graduate students Michael J. Buchanan of Farmington Hills, MI, and Caroline P. Chen of Englewood, CO, for excellence in teaching in an undergraduate subject (subject 10.37, Chemical Kinetics and Reactor Design, spring 2000).

Chemical Engineering Department Special Service Awards for unselfish contributions to the success of departmental activities were given to graduate students Brian D. Harms of Prior Lake, MN; Daniel D. Burkey of Doylestown, PA; and Geoffrey D. Moeser of Burlington, Ontario, Canada; Bryant R. McLaughlin, a senior from Santa Ana, CA; and graduate administrator Janet E. Fischer.

The Chemical Engineering "ROCK" Award for outstanding athletics, as voted by the graduate students of the department, went to Joshua D. Taylor, a graduate student from Rancho Cordova, CA.

The Outstanding Employee Award was presented to Patricia A. Sampson, an administrative assistant in chemical engineering headquarters, for her exceptional service to the departmental faculty, staff and students.

The Outstanding Faculty Award from the graduate students was presented to Professor Daniel Blankschtein. Undergraduates in the department presented an Outstanding Faculty Award to senior lecturer and undergraduate officer C. Michael Mohr.

An Individual Accomplishment Citation was presented to Christina M. Wilbert, a junior from Ada, MI, for her outstanding contributions to departmental life.

Several students in the department also won Institute awards at the MIT Awards Convocation on May 2.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 31, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News