Skip to content ↓

Six elected as Academy of Arts and Sciences members

Six MIT faculty members were elected as Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences on April 17.

The new MIT Fellows are Howard M. Brenner, the Willard Henry Dow Professor of Chemical Engineering; Robert G. Gallager, the Fujitsu Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and director of the Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems; Professor David S. Jerison of mathematics; Professor Wolfgang Ketterle of physics; Professor of Biology Eric Lander, director of the Whitehead/MIT Center for Genome Research; and Professor Harvey Lodish of the Division of Bioenginering and Environmental Health and a member of the Whitehead Institute.

The academy, located in Cambridge, addresses issues of intellectual consequence to the nation through interdisciplinary and collaborative projects and publications, including the journal Daedalus. Academy projects include the Committee on International Security Studies, which is engaged in a long-term study of current global security issues; and the Initiatives for Children project, dealing with the critical problems confronting children in our society, with a particular emphasis on health and education.

A version of this article appeared in the May 5, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 29).

Related Topics

More MIT News