Skip to content ↓

21 certificates are awarded in mechanical engineering

Award certificates and honoraria were presented to more than 20 students in mechanical engineering at an annual luncheon held recently at the Faculty Club. Those honored were as follows:

Amber N. Dudley, a senior from Cambridge, MA, received the Service Award for outstanding contributions to the department. She was recognized for coordinating the undergraduate assistants for the 2.70 competition.

The Carl G. Sontheimer Prize for excellence in innovation and creativity was presented to Matthew J. Van Doren, a graduate student from Englewood, CO.

Two students shared the Reinhold Rudenberg Memorial Prize for an outstanding undergraduate thesis relating to energy conversion: Andrew M. Carnell of Cherry Hill, NJ, and Patrick S. Rowe of Gaithersburg, MD.

Susan L. Ipri, a graduate student from Cambridge, received the Meredith Kamm Memorial Award for outstanding performance in the graduate program.

Three seniors won Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co. Awards for outstanding work in product design and manufacturing: Marc M. Graham of Garfield Heights, OH, Wayne Lam of North Babylon, NY and Donna L. Scott of Buena Park, CA. The prizes were awarded for their undergraduate theses.

The first prize in the Luis De Florez Award competition for outstanding ingenuity and creativity in design was awarded to David G. Rodriguez, a senior of Miami Beach, FL. Second prize was shared by Steven P. Laramie of Laconia, NH and Douglas A. Simpson of Somerville, NJ.

The first prize in a new ethics scenario competition to identify and respond to a moral problem that an MIT graduate might face in the first 10 years of his or her work experience or in graduate school was awarded to Thomas A. Lawrence of Riverside, PA. Second prize went to Caroline Pan of East Brunswick, NJ.

The Whitelaw Prize for outstanding design and construction of a device for the contest in 2.70 (Introduction to Design) was awarded to sophomores Jon H. Appleby, of South Berwick, ME, and Michael P. Schmidt-Lange of White Plains, NY.

Seven students won Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Awards for outstanding performance in an undergraduate thesis or project relating to materials handling. Four sophomores, Jonathan D. Albert, of Bala Cynwyd, PA; Brian D. Hoffman, of Rexford, NY; Joachim Ogland, of Lillehammer, Norway and Roy E. Swart of Kennewick, WA, were cited for the design and construction of their machine in the 2.70 competition; Caroline Pan, a senior of East Brunswick, NJ, was honored for a UROP project; and Gina Eileen Stephens, a senior of Greenbrae, CA, and Kevin R. Walsh, a senior of Lake Carroll, IL, were recognized for their theses.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News