Skip to content ↓

Appointments announced

Danheiser takes chemistry post

Professor Rick L. Danheiser, a leading researcher in the synthesis of complex molecules and their applications in the synthesis of natural products, has been appointed associate head of the Department of Chemistry, effective July 1.

"Rick will assume major responsibility for both undergraduate and graduate educational programs in the department, and I shall value his counsel on a broad range of other issues," said Professor Stephen J. Lippard, department head, who made the appointment.

Professor Danheiser, a member of the faculty since 1978, has served the department as chemical hygiene officer and as chairman of its safety committee. He holds the AB degree (1972) from Columbia College and the MA (1975) and the PhD (1978) from Harvard University.

His awards include the Stuart Pharmaceutical Award for Excellence in Chemical Research (1985), the MIT Graduate Student Council Teaching Award (1989), and the Cope Scholar Award of the American Chemical Society (1995). In 1994, he was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, which honored him for "pioneering research in the development of new methods for organic synthesis."

Chung to chair race relations group

Associate Professor James Chung of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science has been named co-chair of the Committee on Campus Race Relations.

Professor Chung, a member of the committee since it was established in 1994 by President Charles M. Vest, will serve as co-chair with Professor Ellen Harris, who has been chair of the committee since its inception. Professor Harris will be on leave during the 1995-96 academic year.

"This group of students, staff and faculty can play a very important role in promoting a harmonious environment for all to study, work, teach and learn at MIT," President Vest said when the committee was formed.

Other members of the committee are Associate Provost Philip Clay, Professors Linn Hobbs of materials science and engineering and Robert Jaffe of physics, graduate students Gustavo Arrizabalago and Keith Bevans, undergraduate students Novice Johnson and Teresa Lau, Physical Plant carpenter Tony Clarke, assistant student deans Ayida Mthembu and Mary Ni, School of Architecture administrative assistant Michael Baenen, Campus Police Sgt. Cheryl DeJong Vossmer and ex officio members Clarence Williams, special assistant to the president/ombudsperson, and Kathryn Willmore, executive assistant to the president/secretary of the MIT Corporation. Committee staff are Elizabeth Connors and Traci Trotzer.

Lightman will continue in post

Dr. Alan Lightman, professor of science and writing, has agreed to stay on as head of the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies, Dean Philip S. Khoury of the School of Humanities and Social Science has announced.

Dr. Lightman's appointed successor, Dr. Rosalind H. Williams, Robert M. Metcalfe Professor of Writing, has accepted the position of Dean of Undergraduate Education and Student Affairs.

Dean Khoury said that he, Provost Joel Moses and senior faculty in the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies enthusiastically welcome Dr. Lightman's decision to remain as head of the program.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on August 16, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News