Skip to content ↓

Chandrakasan appointed to Vannevar Bush Professorship

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science head Anantha Chandrakasan appointed to Institute-wide professorship.
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Audrey Resutek
Phone: 617-253-4642
MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Anantha Chandrakasan
Anantha Chandrakasan
Photo: MIT Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Anantha P. Chandrakasan has been appointed to the Vannevar Bush Professorship, effective Nov. 1, Dean of Engineering Ian A. Waitz has announced. The Vannevar Bush Professorship is an Institute-wide professorship established in 1982 as a memorial to one of the most outstanding scientists and engineers of the 20th century, who was also MIT’s first dean of the School of Engineering. Previous chair holders include Gerald L. Wilson, Subra Suresh, and Ronald L. Rivest.

“Professor Chandrakasan is an exceptionally talented leader, scholar, innovator, and educator,” Waitz wrote in an email announcing the appointment. “As Department Head in EECS he has led the implementation of many initiatives, several of which — including Start6 and SuperUROP — have been adopted across the School [of Engineering].”

Currently the Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering, Chandrakasan is widely known for his landmark 1992 IEEE Journal of Solid State Circuits (JSSC) paper entitled, “Low-Power Digital CMOS Design,” which brought the concept of a power-efficient chip to reality in what was to become the second-most cited paper in the history of the JSSC, the leading publication in the field.

He and his research group have been recognized over the years with many awards, including the 1993 IEEE Communications Society’s Best Tutorial Paper Award, the IEEE Electron Devices Society’s 1997 Paul Rappaport Best Paper Award, the 2007 ISSCC Beatrice Winner Award for Editorial Excellence, and the ISSCC Jack Kilby Award for Outstanding Student Paper (2007, 2008, and 2009). Chandrakasan was selected for the Semiconductor Industry Association University Researcher Award in 2009 and received the 2013 IEEE Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits. He is a fellow of the IEEE and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Related Links

Related Topics

Related Articles

More MIT News