Skip to content ↓

Three graduate students honored for hydrofoil research

Led by MIT researcher Stefano Brizzolara, the team earned second place in this year's Mandles Prize for Hydrofoil Excellence competition.
The students' winning hydrofoil design
The students' winning hydrofoil design
Courtesy of Stefano Brizzolara

Stefano Brizzolara, a research scientist in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and director of the newly established Innovative Ship Design Lab (i-Ship), led three Naval Construction and Engineering students — Vasileios Georgiadis SM '14, Kyle Miller SM '14, and Leon Faison SM '14 — in earning second place (honorable mention) in the 2013-2014 Mandles Prize for Hydrofoil Excellence competition.

The competition recognizes students who achieve excellent results in a design or research thesis on hydrofoil vessels. The students' new vessel design is based on Brizzolara's recent innovative SC-SP hydrofoil design, which was originally used to develop a new ultra-high-speed (120 knots) jet-propelled autonomous surface vehicle for the Office of Naval Research.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Photo of five people seated on a stage with the MITEI logo in the background

Making hydrogen power a reality

Hydrogen fuel has long been seen as a potentially key component of a carbon-neutral future. At the 2022 MIT Energy Initiative Spring Symposium, industry experts describe efforts to produce it at scale.

Read full story