Skip to content ↓

MacVicar Day 2013

Five MIT faculty members will present examples of “Reimagining the MIT Classroom: Experiments with Digital Learning” at the MacVicar Day Symposium on Friday, March 15. The program will run from 2-4 p.m. in Bartos Theater (E15-070). A reception celebrating the 2013 MacVicar Faculty Fellows will follow from 4-5 p.m. The symposium and reception are open to the entire MIT community.

MacVicar Day and the MacVicar Faculty Fellows Program honor the life and contributions of Margaret MacVicar, a professor of physical science who served as the first dean for undergraduate education from 1985 until her death in 1990. MacVicar also founded the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) in 1969.

Daniel Hastings, the current dean for undergraduate education and the Cecil and Ida Green Education professor of engineering systems and aeronautics and astronautics, will announce the 2013 MacVicar Faculty Fellows, selected for their outstanding teaching and sustained contributions to undergraduate education.

Dean Hastings will then moderate the symposium. Speakers will include: Jesus A. del Alamo, Donner professor of electrical engineering; Anette Hosoi, associate professor of mechanical engineering; Anne E. C. McCants, professor of history and director of Concourse; Emma J. Teng, associate professor of Chinese studies and holder of the T.T. and Wei Fong Chao professorship in Asian civilizations; and Troy Van Voorhis, professor of chemistry.

More MIT News