Skip to content ↓

Sara Seager named co-winner of the 2012 Sackler Prize

Sara Seager
Sara Seager

Class of 1941 Professor of Physics and Planetary Science Sara Seager was named by Tel Aviv University as co-winner of the 2012 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences. Seager was cited for her "brilliant theoretical studies, including analysis of the atmospheres and internal compositions of extra-solar planets."

She shares the $100,000 award for "observational or theoretical achievements in the study of extrasolar planets" with Professor David Charbonneau of Harvard University.

The Sackler Prize of Tel Aviv University is awarded in alternate years in the fields of physics and chemistry, and is designed to encourage and reward the dedicated pursuit of scientific originality and excellence by outstanding young scientists.

Read more about the award

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News