Skip to content ↓

A most excellent annual event

Among the 19 individuals and teams to be honored at this year's MIT Excellence Awards, two are longtime veterans of the Institute — Lin-Wen Hu of the Nuclear Reactor Laboratory, an alumna with 16 years of service; and James McCaffery, the maintenance mechanic for the Burton-Conner dormitory, who has been at MIT 18 years.

In addition to the awards for Serving the Client and Innovative Solutions, the ceremony will also honor staff members in the categories of Greening MIT, Fostering Diversity and Inclusion, Bringing Out the Best, and Unsung Hero.

The Excellence Awards acknowledge the extraordinary efforts made by members of our community toward fulfilling the goals, values, and mission of the Institute. This is among the highest honors awarded to staff by MIT. Professionalism, commitment to best practices, and high standards of excellence are at the heart of these awards.

The MIT Excellence Awards ceremony will be held Tuesday, Feb. 28, at 3 p.m. in Kresge Auditorium. A reception will follow. All members of the MIT community are invited to attend. For a complete listing of 2012 award recipients and a schedule of ceremony events, visit

More MIT News