Skip to content ↓

MLK Leadership Awards honor three individuals, one program

Recognize service that reflects the civil rights leader’s ideals
Three MIT community members and one MIT organization have been named recipients of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership Awards for 2011 in recognition of their service to the Institute and beyond.

Candidates for the leadership awards are nominated by colleagues and chosen by the MLK Jr. Planning Committee, a subcommittee of MIT's Committee on Race and Diversity. The winners this year are:

Cheryl Charles, a fiscal officer in the Research Laboratory of Electronics, for her dedication as a resource for underrepresented minority students, including helping out the MIT Caribbean Club and delivering care packages and home-cooked meals to students.

Weslee Glenn, a graduate student in the Department of Chemistry, for his role in the development of teacher training material on the topic of reducing stereotype threat.

Debroah Hodges-Pabon
, personnel and operations administrator in the Microsystems Technology Laboratories (MTL), for, as one nominator wrote, going "above and beyond the call of duty so often that to us, the beneficiaries of her efforts, it seems routine."

The MITES Program, led by Shawna Young and Sandra Tenorio, for "supporting MIT's mission to provide students with the intellectual stimulation of a diverse campus community and contribute to a diverse pool of highly qualified scientists and engineers." The program, part of the Office of Engineering Outreach Programs (OEOP), is a rigorous six-week residential, academic enrichment summer program for promising high-school juniors interested in science and engineering. Between 60 and 80 students participate in the program each year — at no cost to the student; the program is completely scholarship-based.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News