Skip to content ↓

Institute Awards Convocation honors community

28 awards to be distributed during ceremony on May 3.

Twenty-eight of the Institute’s most prestigious awards will be given to students, faculty, and staff for their remarkable contributions to MIT during the annual Awards Convocation, taking place May 3. The honorees will be recognized by MIT President Susan Hockfield and other senior officers during the event.

“Every day, the people at MIT use their intelligence, ingenuity and passion to serve the world,” Hockfield said. "With these same qualities, they also strengthen our own community. We are grateful for their efforts and glad to recognize and celebrate their contributions.”

The Awards Convocation is MIT’s largest awards ceremony, drawing on offices, departments and people from across MIT including the arts, athletics, student life, academics, alumni, staff, faculty and students.

All members of the MIT community are invited to help recognize these outstanding individuals and teams at the MIT Awards Convocation at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, May 3, in 10-250. A gala reception will follow in Lobby 10.

Learn more about the awards on the MIT Awards Convocation website.

Complete list of winners:

Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts
Adrianna Tam '11

Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Art Awards
Dorian Dargan '11
Akansha Kumar '11
Jennifer Lai '11
Everett Lawson G

Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize in the Visual Arts
First Place: Sarah Witt G

Patrick J. McGovern ’59 Entrepreneurship Award
Cross Campus Collaboration: Vanessa Green G (Energy Conference), Nathan Trujillo G (MITER), Rene Reinsberg G (Linked Data Ventures), Jarrod Phipps G and Melinda Hale G (Building Bridges)

Arthur C. Smith Award
Professor J. Kim Vandiver

Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Professor Krishna Rajagopal

Earll M. Murman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising
Professor David Darmofal

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching
Professor Anette (Peko) Hosoi

Graduate Student Council Teaching Award
Frederick P Salvucci

Goodwin Medal
Taylor Barton

Frank E. Perkins Award
Professor Roberto M Fernandez

Irwin Sizer Award for Most Significant Improvement to MIT Education
Concourse Program, Integrated Studies in the Sciences and Humanities

Howard W. Johnson Award
Toomas Sepp ’11

Betsy Schumacher Woman Athlete of the Year Award
Karin Fisher ’11

Malcolm G. Kispert Awards
Kyle Hannon ’13
Lauren Hernley ’11

Harold J. Pettegrove Award
Michelle Nason ’11

Frederick Gardiner Fassett, Jr. Awards
Timothy Ryan Schoen ’11
Victoria Thomas ’12

William L. Stewart, Jr. Awards
Ulric Ferner G
Christina Johnson ’11
Graduate Women at MIT (GWAMIT
Sidney-Pacific Executive Council

D. Reid Weedon JR ’41 Alumni/ae Relations Award
First Place: Phi Sigma Kappa
Second Place: Chi Phi
Honorable Mention: Phi Kappa Theta
Honorable Mention: Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Association of MIT Alumnae (AMITA) Senior Academic Award
Fatima Hussain ’11
Melissa Gymrek ’11

Ronald E. McNair Scholarship Award
Jonathan Blackwood '11
Christopher Francis '12
Isaac Joseph '11
Aissata E. Nutzel '11

Priscilla King Gray Award
Benjamin Mensah ’11
Sumi Sinha ’12
Sivakami Sambasivam ’11

John S.W. Kellett ’47 Award
You Are Welcome Here Campaign

Albert G. Hill Prize
Ruben Alonzo ’11
Omar Carrasquillo ’11
Matthew Estrada ’12
Kamil Gedeon ’11
Joubert X. Glover ’11
Quinnton Harris ’11
Jose Marquez ’12
Benjamin Mensah ’11
Courtney Weldon ’12

James N. Murphy Award
Nina Davis-Millis

Laya Wiesner Community Award
Michelle Bentivegna ’11

Laya W. Wiesner Award
Christina Johnson '11

Gordon Y Billard Award
Professor Phillip Clay

Karl Taylor Compton Prizes
Vrajesh Modi '11
Yoda Patta G
Shan Wu G

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News