Skip to content ↓

2 MIT mathematicians win AMS awards

Two MIT mathematicians — Tomasz Mrowka and David Vogan — have been named recipients of awards from the American Mathematical Society, and will be presented their awards today at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans.

Mrowka, the Simons Professor of Mathematics at MIT, is jointly receiving the 2011 AMS Joseph L. Doob Prize with Peter Kronheimer, the William Caspar Graustein Professor of Mathematics at Harvard University.

Presented every three years by the American Mathematical Society, the Doob Prize recognizes a single, relatively recent, outstanding research book that makes a seminal contribution to the research literature, reflects the highest standards of research exposition, and promises to have a deep and long-term impact in its area.

Vogan, a professor in the Department of Mathematics, was named the recipient of the 2011 AMS Levi L. Conant Prize.

Presented annually, the Conant Prize recognizes the best expository paper published in either the Notices of the AMS or the Bulletin of the AMS in the preceding five years. Vogan is being honored for his article "The character table for E_8."

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News