Skip to content ↓

6 from MIT named AAAS fellows

Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Jessica Holmes
Phone: 617-253-2700
MIT News Office
Katharine Zambon
Phone: 202-326-6434

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has awarded the distinction of fellow to 503 members, including six members of the MIT community.

Fellows are recognized by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and the society’s gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Sunday, Feb. 19, at the association’s annual meeting in Washington.

The following individuals are new AAAS fellows:
  • William Boone Bonvillian was selected for “demonstrated commitment and skill at bringing the voice of science to the halls of Congress and the highest levels of government.”
  • Edward F. DeLong was chosen for “his important contributions to microbial systems science, particularly to the study of bacterial and archaean genomics and oceanographic biomes.”
  • Chris A. Kaiser was selected for “distinguished contributions to the field of yeast genetics, specifically protein sorting and secretion."
  • Terry L. Orr-Weaver of the Department of Biology and the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.
  • David Pesetsky, was chosen for “his innovative and critical research on syntactic theory, connecting it to issues in phonology, morphology, reading, language acquisition and neuroscience, and for his contributions to linguistic education at many levels.” (read more)
  • Li-Huei Tsai was selected for “studies of cellular mechanisms of learning and of learning disruptions in Alzheimer's disease.”

Related Topics

More MIT News