Skip to content ↓

Chiang, Lester appointed to DOE energy advisory committee

Professors will provide advice and expertise on clean-energy issues under the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.
Two MIT professors are among the 19 members of the U.S. Department of Energy's newly established Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Advisory Committee (ERAC), a federal advisory group that will report directly to the Secretary of Energy with advice on the portfolio of the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE).

Yet-Ming Chiang, the Kyocera Professor of Ceramics in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering; and Richard Lester, the Japan Steel Industry Professor, head of the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering and co-chair of the Industrial Performance Center were named members of the committee on Friday.

”We are fortunate to have such knowledgeable people volunteering their time and efforts to the department’s clean-energy endeavors," said Secretary of Energy Steven Chu. "They will be contributing their expertise and experience to help address the energy challenges faced by our nation.”

ERAC will periodically review EERE’s portfolio and provide advice to the secretary on a variety of areas including: completion of long-range plans, priorities and strategies; program funding; and any issues of specific concern expressed by the secretary of energy or the assistant secretary for EERE. ERAC is expected to meet twice a year; the meetings will be open to the public.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News