Skip to content ↓

School of Engineering awards

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching--Given to a faculty member whose contributions have been characterized by dedication, care and creativity
- Vladimir Bulovic, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science

Junior Bose Award--For an outstanding contributor to education from among the junior faculty of the School of Engineering
- Krystyn J. Van Vliet, assistant professor of materials science and engineering

Ruth and Joel Spira Awards for Excellence in Teaching--Awarded to one faculty member each in electrical engineering and computer science, mechanical engineering, and nuclear science and engineering to acknowledge "the tradition of high quality engineering education at MIT." A fourth award will rotate among the school's five other academic departments, beginning with Aeronautics and Astronautics in 2009
- Elfar Adalsteinsson, associate professor of EECS & HST
- Daniel Frey, associate professor of mechanical engineering and Engineering Systems Division
- Dennis G. Whyte, associate professor of nuclear science and engineering
- Zoltan S. Spakovszky, associate professor of aeronautics and astronautics

School of Engineering Graduate Student Award for Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring--Established in 2006 to recognize an engineering graduate student who has demonstrated extraordinary teaching and mentoring as a teaching or research assistant
- Gunaranjan Chaudhry G, mechanical engineering

Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising--To a faculty member who has demonstrated a lasting commitment to personal and professional development
- Leslie A. Kolodziejski, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship--Given to students who exhibit an outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or those engineering disciplines that contribute significantly to the technological advances of the United States
- Alvin S. Chen '10, Irvine, Calif.
- Vidya Ganapati '10, Portland, Ore.

The Henry Ford II Award--Presented to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative average of 5.0 at the end of their seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in the profession of engineering and in society
- Alona Birjiniuk '09, Weston, Mass.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 2009 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News