Skip to content ↓

Arts awards

Brad and Dorothea Endicott Award--In recognition of distinguished service and musical contribution to world music
- Thomas Carr '09, Fredericksburg, Va.

Gregory Tucker Memorial Prizes--In recognition of exceptional ability in performance and overall contribution to the Music and Theater Arts Section
- Yi-Hsin Lin '09, New York, N.Y.
- Benjamin Park '10, Jamaica Plain, Mass.

Everett Longstreth Jazz Awards--In recognition of distinguished service and musical contribution to the - - MIT Festival Jazz Ensemble
- Christopher Han '09, Clemson, S.C.
- Jack Murphy '10, Denton, Texas

Richard and Jody Nordlof Awards--In recognition of distinguished service and musical contribution to the - - MIT Wind Ensemble
- Kaitlyn Becker '09, Narberth, Pa.
- Matthew Putnam '09, Round Rock, Texas
- Brandon Reese '09, Alpharetta, Ga.

Epstein Award--In recognition of distinguished service and musical contribution to the MIT Symphony Orchestra
- Bina Choi '11, Houston, Texas

Philip Loew Memorial Awards--In recognition of creative accomplishment in music
- Christopher Kottke G, Cambridge, Mass.
- Annie Raymond '09, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
- Kathryn Shroyer '09, San Antonio, Texas

J. and E. Ruina Certificates--In recognition of special gifts
- Jodie-Marie Fernandes '09, St. James, Trinidad and Tobago
- Thomas Carr '09, Fredericksburg, Va.

Ragnar and Margaret Naess Certificates--In recognition of exceptional talent and commitment to performance at MIT
- Exceptional Vocal Student: Yelena Bagdasarova '10, Twin Falls, Idaho
- Exceptional Vocal Student: Elisabeth Hon Hunt G, Fort Myers, Fla.
- Exceptional Vocal Student: Paulina Sliwa G, Hahnstaetten, Germany
- Exceptional Pianist: Nathan Haouzi '10, Hummelstown, Pa.
- Exceptional Pianist: Eun-Suk Lee G, Seoul, South Korea
- Exceptional Pianist: Khoa L. Nguyen '10, Houston, Texas
- Exceptional Pianist: Sarah Rumbley '12, Lafayette, Colo.
- Exceptional Pianist: Xiao Xiao '09, Metarie, La.
- Exceptional Percussionist: Simone Ovsey '09, Northridge, Calif.
- Exceptional Percussionist: Christopher Hainley G, Springfield, Ore.
- Exceptional Wind Player: Dylan Sherry '12, Cape Elizabeth, Maine
- Exceptional Wind Player: Benjamin Steinhorn '12, Chicago, Ill.
- Exceptional String Player: Tanya Goldhaber '10, Boulder, Colo.
- Exceptional String Player: Sherman Jia G, Roslyn Heights, N.Y.

Emerson Music Fellowships
- Thomas Carr '09, Fredericksburg, Va., for piano
- Alvin Chen '10, Irvine, Calif., for piano
- Bina Choi '09, Houston, Texas, for cello
- Elisabeth Hon Hunt G, Fort Myers, Fla., for voice
- Nicholas Joliat '10, Lexington, Mass., for piano
- Jennifer Lai '11, Honolulu, Hawaii, for piano
- Andrew Wang '11, Sugarland, Texas, for piano

The Joseph D. Everingham Award--Recognizes a single creative outstanding performance or notable creative accomplishments in theater arts by a graduating senior
- Ashley Micks, Columbus, Ohio
- Sally Peach, Bessemer City, N.C.

Edward S. Darna Awards--Presented to a graduating student who has demonstrated excellence in theater arts and made a substantial contribution to the health of theater life on the MIT campus
- Hanna Kuznetsov, Lexington, Mass.
- Brian Demers, West Boylston, Mass.

I. Austin Kelly III Essay Prize--For best undergraduate essay
- Cristen Blair Chinea '10, New York, N.Y.

Kelley-Douglas Summer '09 Traveling Fellowships
- Jose Barcena '10, Bronx, N.Y.
- Jodie-Marie Fernandes '09, St. James, Trinidad and Tobago
- Brooke Jarrett '10, Palatine, Ill.
- Diana Jue '09, Los Angeles, Calif.
- SeoHyung Kim '10, Cheong-ju, South Korea
- Amy Leung '10, Brooklyn, N.Y.
- Yujing Li '10, Bronx, N.Y.
- Christie Lin '11, Rockville, Md.
- Richard Prevost '11, Springfield, Va.
- Sukrit Ranjan '10, Northbrook, Ill.
- Adam Talsma '10, Scottville, Mich.
- Jingwen Tao '09, Houston, Texas
- Liz Theurer '10, Newberry, Fla.
- James Ira Winder '10, Asheville, N.C.


Boit Manuscript Prize-Drama
- 1st prize: Anneke Schwob '10
- 2nd prize: Long Lam '10
- Honorable Mention: Jonathan Sue-Ho '10

Boit Manuscript Prize-Essay
- 1st prize: Marguerite Siboni '10
- 1st prize: Jason E. Douglas '11

Boit Manuscript Prize-Fiction
- 1st prize: Lindsay Johnson '11
- 2nd prize: Minah Shahbaz '09
- Honorable Mention: Susan Shepherd '11
- Honorable Mention: Anna Waldman-Brown '11

Boit Manuscript Prize-Poetry
- 1st prize: Renee Reder '10
- 2nd prize: Seohyung Kim '10
- Honorable Mention: Sarah Campbell Proehl '09

Ellen King Prize for Freshman Writing
- 1st prize: Kelechi Nwosu '12
- 2nd prize: Aimee Harrison '12
- Honorable Mention: Jessica Lin '12

Enterprise Poets Prize in Imagining a Future
- 1st prize: Tony Hyun Kim '09
- 1st prize: Nevada Sanchez '10
- 2nd prize: Anna Waldman-Brown '11

Prize for Writing Science Fiction
- 1st prize: Gillian Conahan '10
- 2nd prize: Susan Shepherd '11
- Honorable Mention: Natania Antler '09

The Robert A. Boit Writing-Essay
- 1st prize: Marguerite Siboni '10
- 2nd prize: Kristen Uhmeyer '09
- 2nd prize: Cristen Blair Chinea '10

The Robert A. Boit Writing Prize-Poetry
- 1st prize: Sarah Campbell Proehl '09
- 2nd prize: Liz Hanson '11
- 3rd prize: Alexandra Corella '10

The Robert A. Boit Writing Prize-Short Story
- 1st prize: Seohyung Kim '10
- 2nd prize: Anneke Schwob '10
- 2nd prize: Renee Reder '10

S. Klein Prize For Science Writing
- 1st prize: Genevieve Wanucha G
- 2nd prize: Yuri Hanada '10

S. Klein Prize For Technical Writing
- 2nd prize: Tony (Hyun) Kim '09
- 2nd prize: Annick Aubin Pouliot '09

DeWitt Wallace Prize for Science Writing for the Public
- 1st prize: Matthew Meiser '11
- 1st prize: Fangfei Shen '11
- 2nd prize: Anneke Schwob '10
- Honorable Mention: Chris Kennedy '10

Vera List for Writing on the Visual Arts
- 1st prize: Seohyung Kim '10
- 2nd prize: George Hansel '12

WHS Prize for Engineering Writing
- 1st prize: Clara Yuan '09
- 2nd prize: Eric Dow '09
- nd prize: Garrett Robinson '09
- Honorable Mention: Katrina Westerhof '10

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 2009 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story