Skip to content ↓

Recent awards and honors

Burchfiel wins GSA's Penrose Medal

B. Clark Burchfiel, the Schlumberger Professor of Geophysics and Physics, has won the prestigious Penrose Medal from the Geological Society of America.

Established in 1927 by R.A.F. Penrose, Jr., the medal recognizes outstanding original work that marks a major advance in the science of geology. In citing Burchfiel for the award, Gregory A. Davis of the University of Southern California wrote, "He was the first earth scientist to see the importance of establishing a GPS network along Tibet's eastern and northeastern margins. He then mentored a cadre of Chinese earth scientists in funding and setting up the network that has led to strikingly new theories about the rheology of Tibet's thickened crust and its response to continental collision." Over a period of nearly 50 years, Burchfiel has traveled, measured and mapped the world and authored more than 180 papers documenting his discoveries.

Burchfiel's award will be presented at a ceremony during the GSA annual meeting in Oregon on Saturday, Oct. 17.

Senior wins Vanguard women in information technology scholarship

Electrical engineering and computer science senior Sharon Tam was named one of nine recipients nationwide of a Vanguard Women in Information Technology Scholarship Award for 2009. The Vanguard Women in Information Technology Program provides merit-based scholarships to female students entering their senior year of college and pursuing studies in computer science, computer engineering, web design, or related information technology disciplines. Students can earn up to $8,000.

AXO sorority named chapter of the year

Marsha King Grady, national president of the Alpha Chi Omega sorority, recently presented MIT's Theta Omicron chapter with the organization's National Council Trophy. The award is the national organization's highest honor and is given to the collegiate chapter "that best exemplifies the ideals and mission of Alpha Chi Omega."

Related Topics

More MIT News