Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors: April 15, 2009

Stephen J. Lippard
Stephen J. Lippard
Photo / Donna Coveney

Professor Stephen Lippard to receive 2009 Pauling Medal

The 2009 Pauling Medal will be awarded to Professor Stephen J. Lippard, the Arthur Amos Noyes Professor of Chemistry. The Linus Pauling Medal is given annually by the Oregon, Portland and Puget Sound sections of the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in chemistry in the spirit of and in honor of Linus Pauling, a native of the Pacific Northwest.

Three professors honored with Billard award

Lotte Bailyn, professor of management, emerita; Institute Professor John Deutch; and Gerald Wilson, Vannevar Bush Professor and professor of electrical engineering and computer science and mechanical engineering, have been named the 2009 recipients of MIT's Gordon Y Billard Award. This award is presented annually for "special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute," with a fund established by Gordon Y Billard '24.

Morton wins regional field honors

Stephen Morton, a junior in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, was recently selected as the 2009 Division III Indoor Track & Field New England Region Men's Field Athlete of the Year.

Two wrestlers named Academic All-Americans

Grant Kadokura and Joseph Silverman, both members of the MIT wrestling team, were named Academic All-Americans for 2009. Kadokura, a sophomore in mechanical engineering, and Silverman, a junior in mechanical engineering, received the honor for maintaining a 3.2 GPA.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on April 15, 2009 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News