Skip to content ↓

Suresh to receive 2008 Eringen Medal of the Society of Engineering Science

Subra Suresh
Subra Suresh
Photo / Justin Knight

The Society of Engineering Science has chosen Subra Suresh, Dean of the School of Engineering and Ford Professor of Engineering, to receive the A.C. Eringen Medal for 2008, one of the highest and most distinguished prizes awarded in recognition of "sustained outstanding achievements in engineering science." In its annual meeting to be held this fall at the University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign, Suresh will receive a medal, a cash prize and lifetime membership in the society. In Suresh's honor, the society also plans to organize a special symposium devoted to the science and applications of advanced material, cell and molecular biomechanics, and nanotechnology to which Suresh has made pioneering contributions. The list of recipients of the Eringen Medal in recent years includes the late Nobel laureate Pierre de Gennes.


A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 13, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News