Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors: Dec. 17, 2008

Joseph V. Minervini
Joseph V. Minervini
Photo / Paul Rivenberg

Two professors up for ALA presentation award

Two MIT professors -- Klavs Jensen and Mehmet Yanik -- have been named finalists in the Association for Laboratory Automation's (ALA) $10,000 Innovation Award at LabAutomation2009, which will take place Jan. 24-28.

Jensen, the Warren K. Lewis Professor and department head of chemical engineering and a professor of materials science and engineering, is up for his work on "Microfluidic Synthesis of NanoMaterials at High Pressures and Temperatures."

Yanik, the Robert J. Shillman Career Development Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, was named a finalist for his work on "High Performance Magnetic Separation in Microfluidic Channels."

The ALA Innovation Award recognizes LabAutomation2009 podium presenters whose work demonstrates outstanding innovation and contributes to the exploration of automation technologies in the laboratory. The winner will be announced Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2009, at 12:30 p.m.

Minervini honored by American Nuclear Society

Joseph V. Minervini, head of the Fusion Technology and Engineering Division of the MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center, has received the 2008 Technical Accomplishment Award from the American Nuclear Society, Fusion Energy Division. Minervini was honored for technical accomplishments achieved in developing superconducting magnet technology for magnetic confinement fusion experiments; specifically for the development of large-scale cable-in-conduit-conductor (CICC) technology for the ITER magnets, as well as for the successful design, fabrication and testing of the Central Solenoid Model Coil for ITER, a joint international research and development project that aims to demonstrate the scientific and technical feasibility of fusion power.

Physics graduate student wins award at PANIC08

Georgia Karagiorgi, a graduate student in the Department of Physics, recently won the best poster award at the International Conference on Particles And Nuclei (PANIC08). The award, sponsored by the Elsevier journal Nuclear Physics A, honors young scientists.

Sloan students win first at CMU case competition

For the second year in a row, an MIT Sloan team consisting of Leaders for Manufacturing (LFM) and MBA students has won first place in Carnegie Mellon University's annual International Operations Case Competition. Members of this year's winning team included LFM '10s Chad Sailer, David Follette, Paul Witinski and Chris Lin, plus Michael Irwin, MBA '10.

This marks the fourth year that an MIT Sloan team, which has always included LFM students, has taken first place. Others won in 2000 (tied for first place), 2003 and 2007. Another team placed second in 2002.

Lecturer named APS fellow

Sekazi Mtingwa, a senior lecturer in the Concourse program at MIT, has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society. The APS Fellowship Program was created to recognize members who have made advances in physics through original research and publication, or made significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. According to the APS citation, Mtingwa was elected a fellow for his definitive treatment of intrabeam scattering, his contributions to the wakefield acceleration, and his early recognition of the fixed target physics potential of the next generation electron-positron collider.

Professors receive honorary doctorates

Rosalind Williams, the Bern Dibner Professor of the History of Science and Technology and Moshe Ben-Akiva, the Edmund K. Turner Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, were recently awarded honorary doctorates at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, Sweden.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on December 17, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News