Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Research Laboratory of Electronics Director Jeff Shapiro, the Julius A. Stratton Professor of Electrical Engineering and Physics, will be honored by the IEEE Lasers & Electro-Optics Society as a co-recipient of the 2008 IEEE/LEOS Quantum Electronics Award. He was cited "for pioneering and seminal contributions to the theory of the generation, detection and applications of novel states of light."

Professor Joseph Sussman, the JR East Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Engineering Systems, has been selected as the 2008 recipient of the City College of New York's Engineering School Alumni (ESA) Career Achievement Award. The annual award is given to ESA graduates whose career and achievements are a source of pride to CCNY and to fellow alumni. Professor Sussman will be honored at the ESA's annual meeting and awards dinner on May 27, where he will speak on his CCNY experience, his career and other topics of professional interest.

Erik D. Demaine, the Esther and Harold E. Edgerton Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, has won the Emerging Leadership Award as part of the second-annual Katayanagi Prizes in Computer Science.

As part of the award, which is presented by Carnegie Mellon University in cooperation with the Tokyo University of Technology (TUT), Demaine will deliver a 45-minute lecture in 7500 Wean Hall on Carnegie Mellon's Pittsburgh campus beginning at 3:15 p.m., April 10, and another at TUT in Tokyo on May 23.

Meejin Yoon, an associate professor in the Department of Architecture, recently won the Rhode Island School of Design/Target Emerging Artist Award in partnership with Surface magazine.

Harvey F. Lodish, founding member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and a professor of biology and bioengineering, was recently named chair of the newly formed Scientific Advisory Board at the Massachusetts Life Sciences Center. The board will provide scientific and technical advice and oversight and to ensure scientific credibility and transparency for the center's activities and grant-making decisions.

Three MIT undergraduates are among the 321 students recently named Barry Goldwater Scholars.

The winners from MIT are Jennifer Yeh, a chemical engineering major who plans to obtain an MD/PhD in biological engineering; Sunny Shang Lou, a biology major who plans to earn an MD/PhD in molecular and cellular biology; and Annelise Beck, a chemistry and physics major who plans to pursue a PhD in chemistry.

Goldwater Scholars receive up to $7,500 per year for each of their remaining academic years. The awards are given to sophomores and juniors planning careers in science and engineering.

Nuclear science and engineering student Sung Joong Kim was one of 25 students offered a scholarship to attend the first annual Advanced Test Reactor National Scientific User Facility summer session. Kim was selected from nearly 70 candidates to attend the June 16-20 session in Idaho Falls.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on April 9, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News